Back when I was in middle school, a friend of mine let me borrow a game that was really hyped up, and it still is today. Yet, I  had never heard of it and back then I wasn’t allowed to play “M” rated games. The first one I had played was Halo 2 and that game opened my eyes to many possibilities that I never knew existed, and that’s how it was back then, at least to me anyways. You weren’t considered cool if you didn’t play any of the Halo series. I remember looking up videos, printing out cool pictures, playing against friends, and just having a blast with Halo 2. That game was my world until my friend let me borrow this new game that had just come out. It was completely different to what I was used to, but I wanted a different “M” rated experience. I wanted to be introduced to Rapture.

I didn’t like it. Well, more like hated it. It was nothing like Halo and I couldn’t comprehend it. Unfortunately, it got to the point where I didn’t finish it and I didn’t want to. I gave it back to my friend and expressed to him that it wasn’t a game that I needed. So I completely forgot about BioShock until I met David in college and once again I was thrown into the world of Rapture.

This time was different, this time the characters called to me and the plot was poetic. My whole world became addicted to this game and once I beat it for the first time, I did it again and again. It became one of those games where the plot, characters, guns, powers, and pure suspense never got old. I mean the imagination of this game is spectacular. This is a game you need to play to fully grasp what I’m saying.

BioShock is set in a city in the sea, Rapture. You play as Jack, the sole survivor of a plane crash, who quickly finds himself under the sea. Rapture is a city founded by Andrew Ryan, who wanted to create a world away from government, a city for the people. But not everyone is who they say they are, and the plot goes deeper and deeper as you learn who Ryan, Tenenbaum, Fontaine, and a variety of others are as you explore this fallen city within the ocean.

This game is a first-person-shooter, but displays a variety of different mechanics. As Jack, you have the ability to shoot lightning from your finger tips plus other amazing powers you eventually find, shoot a plethora of different guns, or beat your enemies with a wrench. You have to fight creepy disfigured people called Splicers, giant robot-like killing machines known as Big Daddies, and possibly even yourself. There are two possible endings to the game. One being the perfect and the other being the imperfect. You have the choice of saving the little sisters or killing them. The creators gave you the choice of free will and with it you can create life or destroy it.

The game has some of the best quotes I’ve ever heard and read, they are simply amazing. The graphics are inspiring, as well as the game play mechanics, the special abilities you get, even the guns! The voice acting is even top-notch, the whole game just has an extremely polished feel.

I love this game but it got to the point where I couldn’t play it on the new gen consoles. I remember going to GameStop and trading it in for credit, it was like Judas giving up Christ; I betrayed my love. My final words were, “I’ll get you back…” then time passed by. I read the book by John Shirley (which is canon) and I even read some other non-canon books on it as well. Finally, I heard the news! It was coming out remastered for the latest gen consoles! I almost cried when I bought it.

The updated version is so much better, though it only was in the way of graphics, we as the players were able to see the city exactly how it had been intended all the years before. Now the technology would allow us to see Rapture the way it was supposed to be, and it was glorious. The little sisters are creepier, the darkness of the game seemed more legit in the watery abyss of the sea, but one thing I loved the most was fighting the Big Daddies. It made this awesome game even better.

Go out and buy this game! Go out and have fun with it! Be amazed as I was and still am!

bioshock-remastered“I am Andrew Ryan, and I’m here to ask you a question. Is a man not entitled to the sweat of his brow? ‘No!’ says the man in Washington, ‘It belongs to the poor.’ ‘No!’ says the man in the Vatican, ‘It belongs to God.’ ‘No!’ says the man in Moscow, ‘It belongs to everyone.’ I rejected those answers; instead, I chose something different. I chose the impossible. I chose… Rapture, a city where the artist would not fear the censor, where the scientist would not be bound by petty morality, Where the great would not be constrained by the small! And with the sweat of your brow, Rapture can become your city as well.”

-Andrew Ryan

Would you kindly play this game?

