Last night, my family and I were browsing through On Demand and saw that Hacksaw Ridge has finally been released. I’ve been waiting for a while for this movie to come out, because I couldn’t see it in theaters due to it not being around here. So with much anticipation, we ordered the movie, and watched it all play out. As you know already, I enjoy zombie movies but war movies are quite better. I guess it’s just due to the truth in it. War is hell, pain, and bloodshed. There is glory but only at a high cost of a life. This movie was filled with intensity and, honestly, tears swelled my eyes. The movie pierced my heart and it was just, once again, a reminder of the men who hold our flag and freedom in place.

My Grandfather died when I was in 8th grade. Died of cancer. He lived a great life and I loved him dearly. I don’t think I’d be the man I am today without his guidance. He taught me how to fish, have patience even through the hardships, and the value of freedom. He served in Vietnam and introduced me to war movies. The first movie I saw, as a kid, was Saving Private Ryan. His exact words were that I would love this movie and although it terrified me, he said to me, “That’s what freedom is, Bailey. Laying down your life so someone else can live.” It wasn’t until when he died that I learnt what he was to people. The man that took me to church and sung in the choir, was also a man that saved people in Vietnam. I was told that one day, when he was over there, his helicopter went down with his men, and while wounded, he dragged them out of the chopper. Awards were given to him and now, thinking back over his life, I believe he showed me them when he was alive. Purple heart and a few others were among his most valuable possessions. After he died, their home was robbed and the thieves took his awards and everything that he brought back from there plus other things.

He wasn’t the only one to serve from my family. My great-great grandfather served in World War II and he was a expert marksman on the heavy machine gun. That’s all I know about him besides him hating the Japanese. I didn’t meet him but from the way the family talks, he was a tough guy. Someone you never wanted to cross and someone who never talked about the war. All that mattered was here and now to him. That’s what war does. Makes you live for the here and now. Seeking life instead of death and peace instead of war when coming home.

Hacksaw Ridge opened me up to death but it also had life in it. Desmond Doss saved 75 people without even picking up a weapon. His quote was, “Just one more, Lord. Just one more.” One more turned to 75 and eventually he went home to get a Medal of Honor and other awards. Getting to this point was tough for him though due to his policy of no guns. The people he served with didn’t trust him but he stayed with it. Going all the way to Hacksaw Ridge to save all those men. If you haven’t seen this movie, then please do. It’s a really great movie that teaches what freedom really is.

“We are determined that before the sun sets on this terrible struggle, Our Flag will be recognized throughout the World as a symbol of Freedom on the one hand and of overwhelming force on the other.”
―George Marshall

