Did you know that suicide is the 10th leading cause of death in the US? Did you know that each year 44,193 Americans die by this? Did you know for every suicide 25 attempt it? On average there are 121 suicides per day. One more question, did you know that it could be your friend, sister, brother, mother, father, and really anyone you know who struggles with this decision? David and I write for your enjoyment on here, about games plus anything entertaining, but, for this post, I need you to bare with me as I take it to the serious side of life: suicide.

About two to three weeks ago my friend Ben said that we all should watch 13 Reasons Why due to how good the show is. I avoided it for a while until one day I decided to give it a try. It centers around suicide and a girl named Hannah Baker who recorded on audio tapes 13 reason why she killed herself. Each one centers around someone that messed her up. Bullying, false accusations, and rape come into the picture which eventually when she turns for help, she finds it but in a way that she didn’t need, and later on she goes home, without anyone stopping her, puts on some old clothes, goes to the bathroom to fill up the tub, and she finally slit her wrists. As she bled out and the water turned crimson red, she died, and it wasn’t only with no one caring enough, but also alone. Alone.

There’s a lot of controversy about this show right now. Parents and teachers are telling their teens not to watch it due to the fact of the negativity in it. Of course there’s going to be negativity in it. The show is about what people don’t want to talk about. It’s extremely hard for people to talk about it with others unless the person you’re talking to has been through it. I know this for a fact, that when death is called out and named in front of people due to suicide, people tend to change the subject. “That’s too depressing.” Yes, it’s depressing, but just because you don’t talk about it doesn’t mean that the word goes away. Probably because you don’t talk about it with the person that brought it up, you pushed them away, and now they know not to bring it up with you again. Sorry. I’m being riled up. It’s just that this means a lot to me and it’s something that doesn’t need to be put under or not talked about; it needs to be known that suicide is not the answer.

I was at work yesterday and I zoned out to think about what the next episode would be with this show. Then I slightly heard it, “You did it correctly.” “What?” This was a stranger that was about to leave when he saw it. He said, “Your arm… You did it correctly, yet you’re still here. That’s a miracle.” I looked at my arm, with my wrist shredded with scars and my forearm having a scar from the wrist to where the brachialis is. I looked at him with a fake smile (fake due to the fact that I hate when people bring it up) and said, “Yeah, I guess someone still needs me here.” It dawned on me a few times, but when the show ended, I fully realized that my actions not only complicate me, but they also complicate the lives of people who loved me. As the screen faded into black and 13 Reasons was no more, I found myself still sitting in my chair. I started to look through what I need to watch next, but nothing interested me. I started breathing rapidly and my heart began to pound faster, and faster until I realized I was having a panic attack. I began to shake uncontrollably and as I began to shake, my heart and soul began to cry, and like an alarm going off in my head, I, too, began to cry.

Before I end this post, I want to tell you 13 Reasons Why to Live

1- You are worth far more to people.

2- To prove the negativity wrong.

3- This depression you’re facing is only temporary. There are far better things out there for you.

4- To see your friends/family members get married.

5-To meet the one you love.

6- To have kids.

7- To be an example that suicide isn’t the answer.

8- To see the stars and witness life.

9- To not only be loved, but to see love come into your life, and get rid of that negativity.

10- To be something one day. I want you to be a example for people that are going through the same things you are.

11- I love pandas so you should too.

12- Don’t become another statistic!

13- To know that I love you so much that I’m writing this for you.

We all have difficulties in life and 13 Reasons Why sets the example of that, but I want you to know that there’s always a choice in what you do. There’s always a silver lining. Know that you’re actions hurt people and people don’t say it much, but there are a lot of people that love you. I hope you have a great day!

“Suicide is a permanent solution to a temporary problem.”

-Phil Donahue

